Business support

Walton County School District

Walton County School District (WCSD) is committed to excellence in education. All WCSD public schools are accredited by AdvancED, which is a national accrediting organization formed through a partnership of regional accrediting agencies, including SACS CASI. The district is among the top-performing school districts in the state.

WCSD has six elementary, three middle, three high schools, one K - 12 schools, two alternative education schools, three charter schools, and a career development center school. Schools in Walton County have an abundance of technology resources to enhance instruction. Approximately 340 district classrooms come equipped with 21st Century technologies. Grants have provided opportunities for one-to-one computing at some grade levels. The district has a 3:1 ratio of students to computers, which empowers students with hands-on learning.

WCSD has an articulation agreement with Northwest Florida State College (NWFSC) to provide dual-enrollment courses for eligible high school students. Students completing these courses earn high school and college credits simultaneously.

emerald coast technical college

Emerald Coast Technical College receives its accreditation by the Commission of the Council on Occupational Education (COE) and AdvancED (formerly SACS/CASI). The primary objective of the college is to provide workforce training for technical employment. The programs offered are based on the local economic need of area employers and industries, government entities, and economic development partners.

ECTC offers technical programs in Automotive Service Technology, Applied Cybersecurity, Computer Systems and Technology, Network Support Services, Web Application Development and Programming, Electricity, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, and Heating Technology, Welding, Cosmetology, Practical Nursing, Patient Care Technician, Pharmacy Technician, Phlebotomy, and GED Education.

NorthWest FLorida State College

With the main campus in Niceville, Florida, NWF State College offers bachelor’s degree programs, associate degrees, and certificates. There are two locations within Walton County: The Chautauqua Center and South Walton Center. With over 100 different degree programs, NWF is 1 of the 28 state and community colleges in Florida’s public system. Over 8200 credit students and 1200 non-credit students attended classes last year at NWF.

The college is home to The Mattie Kelly Arts Center and the Northwest Florida Symphony Orchestra. The Arts Center is a local cultural highlight by playing host to Broadway shows, a variety of theaters, galleries, an outdoor amphitheater, and being the home to the NWFSC Department of Humanities, Fine & Performing Arts.

According to the 2016-2017 self-analysis of NWFSC’s economic impact on the area, NWF states that the sum of its operations spending, student spending impact, and its alumni impact amounted to $326.2 million in added income to the Okaloosa and Walton county area the college services. This amount is equal to almost 2.3% of the gross regional product (GRP) of its service area stretching from the Alabama state line down south to the beaches.